Welcome to the Information Website for the Nationstar Mortgage LLC, d/b/a Mr. Cooper Settlement with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) and State Mortgage Regulators.

In December 2020, Nationstar (d/b/a Mr. Cooper) reached a settlement with the CFPB, the State Attorneys General, and certain state mortgage regulators to resolve old regulatory matters.

The settlement concerns issues raised by the government through past regulatory exams relating to legacy loan servicing practices that occurred during 2010 through 2015.

Almost all of the customers affected by these issues were remediated by refunds or account adjustments years ago.

As part of this new settlement, Nationstar agreed to provide additional refunds to certain customers.

Epiq is administering the $15.6 million in additional refunds provided in the CFPB and state mortgage regulator settlements, which includes cash payments to borrowers’ whose loans fall under three populations identified in those settlements:

  • Modification Payment Increase Borrowers
  • Escrow Borrowers
  • Unlawful Foreclosure Borrowers

On June 10, 2021, Epiq will mail remediation checks to certain customers in those populations. The amount of each customer’s check, which was agreed upon by the regulators through the settlements, reflects the following:

  • Modification Payment Increase – this payment is equal to the difference between the principal and interest portion of the customer’s permanent modification and the principal and interest portion of the customer’s trial payments made before the permanent modification was signed, multiplied by the number of payments the consumer made under the permanent modification through April 30, 2020
  • Escrow – this payment is equal to the escrow account shortage that existed at the time the borrower’s bankruptcy ended
  • Unlawful Foreclosure – the amount paid is the amount agreed upon as part of the settlement

Customers may call with questions about the settlement or the remediation checks at 1-855-914-4649 Monday–Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. except holidays.